When in Rome

When you picture Italy in your head, what do you see? Rome? The Colosseum? All of the different arches, temples, etc? Well here I am! Just me and….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Arch of Constantine/The Colosseum, Temple of Antonius, The Spanish Steps and The Vatican!

I can imagine that the majority of you, if you haven’t already visited Rome, then it is probably on your bucket list. This being said, Rome is a desirable destination and in addition to the 2.5 million residents (approximately), the city is filled with tourists. The historical sights were more impressive than I ever expected, but the city beyond the ruins was a bit of a surprise to me.  Just walking down the streets I noticed all of the Irish Pubs, American burger places, McDonalds, Burger King, and Subways. I expected Rome to be more commercialized than the other places I have seen in Italy, but I was honestly a little disappointed.

Luckily, a little authentic restaurant was there to save the day.

After touring the streets for countless hours I was very tired and hungry and all I wanted was something edible for dinner. We went to a restaurant only 15 feet away from our hostel because no extra walking was acceptable at this point. In a rush to get food, I told the server to bring me his favorite item on the menu. Little did I know, I had made the best decision ever. The thick homemade fresh pasta mixed with a peppered tomato olive oil sauce with shaved Parmesan was to die for. It got to the point where I had to remind myself to breath between bites- you all know the feeling.  For awhile now I have never been a huge pasta fanatic, but this unbelievable experience has changed me!  My weekend in Rome proved to me that it is an authentic Italian city and so much more!

Leave a Reply

